Academic Governance Council

Identity area

Type of entity

Corporate body

Authorized form of name

Academic Governance Council

Parallel form(s) of name

Standardized form(s) of name according to other rules

Other form(s) of name

  • Academic Council (1972-2008)

Identifiers for corporate bodies

Description area

Dates of existence



Academic Council held its first meeting March 7th, 1972, and its constitution was ratified May 10, 1972. The Academic Governance Council (AGC) was established in December 2008, with its Bylaws approved by AGC at its first meeting in January 2009 (Motion AGC-05-01-20-2009). AGC is responsible for academic standards, integrity, policies, programs, as well as scholarship, research, and creative activities at MacEwan University. It consists of 48 members: President (Chair of AGC), Provost and Vice President Academic, 29 academic staff elected by Faculties/ Schools/ Equivalent Entities (with one of the academic staff members elected as Vice-Chair of AGC), 5 students elected by students, 2 senior officials (University Registrar, and Vice President Finance and Administration), 7 Deans, 2 staff elected by staff members, 1 alumni member.


Legal status

Functions, occupations and activities

Mandates/sources of authority

Internal structures/genealogy

General context

Relationships area

Access points area


Control area

Authority record identifier


Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion

February 3, 2017



Maintenance notes

  • Clipboard

  • Export

  • EAC