MacEwan Staff Association

Identity area

Type of entity

Corporate body

Authorized form of name

MacEwan Staff Association

Parallel form(s) of name

Standardized form(s) of name according to other rules

Other form(s) of name

  • Non-Academic Staff Association (NASA) (1983-2001)

Identifiers for corporate bodies

Description area

Dates of existence



The Non-Academic Staff Association (NASA) was officially recognized on January 20, 1983 by the Board of Governors. The purpose of the association was to represent the interests of support and supervisory staff. The first executive committee consisted of Barry White, President, Len Rust, Vice-President, Ilene Nessel, Treasurer, Madelaine Boston, Secretary, Barb Bech, Director, Peter Jenkins, Director, Sharon Schnell, Director, and Joy Shaw, Director. On June 13, 2001 the name changed to the MacEwan Staff Association, and on July 10, 2006 they became a union with their certification as a bargaining agent granted by the Alberta Labour Relations Board.

Donna-Mae Winquist, 2002-
Anne Lavoy


Legal status

Functions, occupations and activities

MSA provides representation and services in the areas of labour relations, disability management and collective bargaining for its members. Activities include professional development programming, social event planning, and biannual general meetings.

Mandates/sources of authority

Internal structures/genealogy

Elected executive

General context

Relationships area

Access points area


Control area

Authority record identifier


Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion




Maintenance notes

  • Clipboard

  • Export

  • EAC