Board of Governors

Identity area

Type of entity

Corporate body

Authorized form of name

Board of Governors

Parallel form(s) of name

Standardized form(s) of name according to other rules

Other form(s) of name

Identifiers for corporate bodies

Description area

Dates of existence



Selected by The Alberta Colleges Commission, the Board of Governors of Edmonton College held its first meeting on April 29, 1970. Chaired by Barry Moore, membership also included Winnifred Ferguson, Robert Guebert, Fred Kurylo, and Edward Stack. Early priorities included changing the name of the institution, and on July 15, 1970 it was agreed that the Honourable Dr. J. W. Grant MacEwan be selected as namesake. The Board also identified the intent of the College as a community college that would not focus on university transfer, which set it apart from other Alberta institutions. It subsequently hired the first president, John L. Haar, who accepted the Board's offer on October 16, 1970.
The Board manages and operates the University within its approved mandate, establishing policies to govern the affairs of the University. On an annual basis, the Board submits a Comprehensive Institutional Plan and Audited Financial Statements to the Minister of Innovation and Advanced Education. Further to the responsibilities set out in the Post-secondary Learning Act, the Board has responsibility: to act in the best interests of the University, to set the long-term vision, mission, and strategic direction of the University, to approve policy in areas of mandated responsibility, to monitor the achievement of the University’s goals, to support the University’s autonomy and system of governance, to advocate on behalf of the University to the external community, to recruit, appoint, evaluate and make decisions regarding the President, to provide the University administration with the support, authority, and responsibility required to lead and manage its affairs successfully, to ensure policies are in place that oversee the management of and protect the University’s monetary, physical, and human resources, to approve the allocation of resources consistent with the achievement of the University’s objectives, and to set out a framework for the conduct of the Board’s affairs and monitor its effectiveness.
Established under the Post-secondary Learning Act (PSLA) (, the Board manages and operates the postsecondary institution within its approved mandate (available at: As the senior authority for the University, the Board is accountable to the Minister of Innovation and Advanced Education.
The MacEwan University Board of Governors consists of a Chair appointed by the Lieutenant-Governor in Council, the President as an ex-officio member and twelve governors representing students, faculty, the MacEwan Staff Association, and the general public. There are six standing committees of the Board: Audit, Finance, Investment, Governance and Human Resources, External Relations and Campus Planning. The Board of Governors may from time to time establish ad hoc task teams with specific roles and responsibilities (e.g., Student Residence Task Group, Robbins Health Learning Centre Oversight Team). Standing committees meet as required, on an average of once every two months between regularly scheduled Board meetings. Other University committees which require Board member representation include: Distinguished Alumni Award Committee, MacEwan Medallion Committee, and MacEwan Medal of Excellence Selection Committee.


Legal status

Functions, occupations and activities

Mandates/sources of authority

Internal structures/genealogy

General context

Relationships area

Access points area


Control area

Authority record identifier


Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion


  • English



MacEwan University website: Grant MacEwan Community College: the first two decades - a retrospective / Glenn David Ruhl.

Maintenance notes

  • Clipboard

  • Export

  • EAC