Series - Strategic Plans

Title and statement of responsibility area

Title proper

Strategic Plans

General material designation

  • Textual record

Parallel title

Other title information

Title statements of responsibility

Title notes

Level of description


Reference code

Edition area

Edition statement

Edition statement of responsibility

Class of material specific details area

Statement of scale (cartographic)

Statement of projection (cartographic)

Statement of coordinates (cartographic)

Statement of scale (architectural)

Issuing jurisdiction and denomination (philatelic)

Dates of creation area


  • 2004-2015 (Creation)
    Board of Governors

Physical description area

Physical description

3 cm of textual records.

Publisher's series area

Title proper of publisher's series

Parallel titles of publisher's series

Other title information of publisher's series

Statement of responsibility relating to publisher's series

Numbering within publisher's series

Note on publisher's series

Archival description area

Name of creator


Administrative history

Selected by The Alberta Colleges Commission, the Board of Governors of Edmonton College held its first meeting on April 29, 1970. Chaired by Barry Moore, membership also included Winnifred Ferguson, Robert Guebert, Fred Kurylo, and Edward Stack. Early priorities included changing the name of the institution, and on July 15, 1970 it was agreed that the Honourable Dr. J. W. Grant MacEwan be selected as namesake. The Board also identified the intent of the College as a community college that would not focus on university transfer, which set it apart from other Alberta institutions. It subsequently hired the first president, John L. Haar, who accepted the Board's offer on October 16, 1970.
The Board manages and operates the University within its approved mandate, establishing policies to govern the affairs of the University. On an annual basis, the Board submits a Comprehensive Institutional Plan and Audited Financial Statements to the Minister of Innovation and Advanced Education. Further to the responsibilities set out in the Post-secondary Learning Act, the Board has responsibility: to act in the best interests of the University, to set the long-term vision, mission, and strategic direction of the University, to approve policy in areas of mandated responsibility, to monitor the achievement of the University’s goals, to support the University’s autonomy and system of governance, to advocate on behalf of the University to the external community, to recruit, appoint, evaluate and make decisions regarding the President, to provide the University administration with the support, authority, and responsibility required to lead and manage its affairs successfully, to ensure policies are in place that oversee the management of and protect the University’s monetary, physical, and human resources, to approve the allocation of resources consistent with the achievement of the University’s objectives, and to set out a framework for the conduct of the Board’s affairs and monitor its effectiveness.
Established under the Post-secondary Learning Act (PSLA) (, the Board manages and operates the postsecondary institution within its approved mandate (available at: As the senior authority for the University, the Board is accountable to the Minister of Innovation and Advanced Education.
The MacEwan University Board of Governors consists of a Chair appointed by the Lieutenant-Governor in Council, the President as an ex-officio member and twelve governors representing students, faculty, the MacEwan Staff Association, and the general public. There are six standing committees of the Board: Audit, Finance, Investment, Governance and Human Resources, External Relations and Campus Planning. The Board of Governors may from time to time establish ad hoc task teams with specific roles and responsibilities (e.g., Student Residence Task Group, Robbins Health Learning Centre Oversight Team). Standing committees meet as required, on an average of once every two months between regularly scheduled Board meetings. Other University committees which require Board member representation include: Distinguished Alumni Award Committee, MacEwan Medallion Committee, and MacEwan Medal of Excellence Selection Committee.

Custodial history

Scope and content

Series consists of strategic plans and budget strategies.

Notes area

Physical condition

Immediate source of acquisition


Language of material

  • English

Script of material

Location of originals

Availability of other formats

The 2014-2018 Integrated Strategic Plan is available on the university website

Restrictions on access

There are no restrictions on access.

Terms governing use, reproduction, and publication

Records may be subject to the Copyright Act of Canada.

Finding aids

Associated materials

Related materials


Additional accruals expected.

Alternative identifier(s)

Accession Number


Standard number area

Standard number

Access points

Subject access points

Place access points

Name access points

Genre access points

Control area

Description record identifier

Institution identifier

Rules or conventions



Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion

Language of description

Script of description


Accession area

Related subjects

Related people and organizations

Related places

Related genres