Office of the President

Identity area

Type of entity

Corporate body

Authorized form of name

Office of the President

Parallel form(s) of name

Standardized form(s) of name according to other rules

Other form(s) of name

Identifiers for corporate bodies

Description area

Dates of existence



The Office of the President of Grant MacEwan Community College was established with the appointment of its first president, John L. Haar. He accepted the Board of Governors' offer on October 16, 1970, and took office on January 1, 1971. The position was updated in 2020 to President and Vice-Chancellor.


  1. John L. Haar (1971-1981), 2. Gerald Kelly (1981-1996), Harry Davis (Acting President, 1996-1997), 3. Paul Byrne (1997-2011), 4. David Atkinson (2011-2017), 5. Deborah Saucier (2017-2019), John McGrath (Acting President, 2019-2020), 6. Dr. Annette Trimbee (2020-).

MacEwan University's presidents are appointed by its Board of Governors, which has been granted this power by the Post-Secondary Learning Act. As outlined in University Policy B2310 President & CEO Search & Selection Evaluation and Compensation, the President is appointed by the Board as the Chief Executive Officer of the University. As such, the President reports to and is accountable to the Board for the successful operation of the University, development and implementation of a Board-approved strategic plan, advancing and executing policy recommendations and ensuring adherence to the institution’s approved mandate.


Legal status

Functions, occupations and activities

Mandates/sources of authority

Internal structures/genealogy

General context

Relationships area

Access points area

Subject access points

Place access points


Control area

Authority record identifier


Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion

July 31, 2018. Revised February 11, 2021.


  • English



Maintenance notes

  • Clipboard

  • Export

  • EAC

Related subjects

Related places