Office of the President

Zone d'identification

Type d'entité


Forme autorisée du nom

Office of the President

forme(s) parallèle(s) du nom

Forme(s) du nom normalisée(s) selon d'autres conventions

Autre(s) forme(s) du nom

Numéro d'immatriculation des collectivités

Zone de description

Dates d’existence



The Office of the President of Grant MacEwan Community College was established with the appointment of its first president, John L. Haar. He accepted the Board of Governors' offer on October 16, 1970, and took office on January 1, 1971. The position was updated in 2020 to President and Vice-Chancellor.


  1. John L. Haar (1971-1981), 2. Gerald Kelly (1981-1996), Harry Davis (Acting President, 1996-1997), 3. Paul Byrne (1997-2011), 4. David Atkinson (2011-2017), 5. Deborah Saucier (2017-2019), John McGrath (Acting President, 2019-2020), 6. Dr. Annette Trimbee (2020-).

MacEwan University's presidents are appointed by its Board of Governors, which has been granted this power by the Post-Secondary Learning Act. As outlined in University Policy B2310 President & CEO Search & Selection Evaluation and Compensation, the President is appointed by the Board as the Chief Executive Officer of the University. As such, the President reports to and is accountable to the Board for the successful operation of the University, development and implementation of a Board-approved strategic plan, advancing and executing policy recommendations and ensuring adherence to the institution’s approved mandate.


Statut légal

Fonctions et activités

Textes de référence

Organisation interne/Généalogie

Contexte général

Zone des relations

Zone des points d'accès

Mots-clés - Sujets

Mots-clés - Lieux


Zone du contrôle

Identifiant de notice d'autorité


Identifiant du service d'archives

Règles et/ou conventions utilisées


Niveau de détail

Dates de production, de révision et de suppression

July 31, 2018. Revised February 11, 2021.


  • anglais



Notes de maintenance

  • Presse-papier

  • Exporter

  • EAC

Sujets associés

Lieux associés