Students' Association of MacEwan University

Identity area

Type of entity

Corporate body

Authorized form of name

Students' Association of MacEwan University

Parallel form(s) of name

Standardized form(s) of name according to other rules

Other form(s) of name

Identifiers for corporate bodies

Description area

Dates of existence



The first student government was elected on October 8, 1971. Composed of two committees, one each from the Cromdale and Old Scona campuses, it was incorporated under the existing provincial legislation as a legal entity. A revised copy of the students’ union constitution was recorded in the Board of Governors meeting minutes from April 12, 1972 (appendix A).

The Students’ Association of MacEwan University (SAMU) is a non-profit organization working independently from MacEwan University, and is governed by elected student representatives. Students’ Council is the highest governing body within the Association. It is comprised of 14 Councillors, one Alberta College Campus delegate, and five Executive Committee members.


Legal status

Functions, occupations and activities

Mandates/sources of authority

Internal structures/genealogy

General context

Relationships area

Access points area

Subject access points

Place access points


Control area

Authority record identifier


Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion

Revised March 8, 2021.


  • English



Board of Governors minutes, Glenn Ruhl book, SAMU website.

Maintenance notes

  • Clipboard

  • Export

  • EAC

Related subjects

Related places